Puff Puff, Shave Shave

Isnt that an odd title opener,

Well to explain, I have been dabbling in yet another possible hobby.  As of late I have been taking to Cigars.  Not on a daily basis, just a once in a while smoke.  It is something that I have always seen as a gentleman’s habit, so to say.  While I do not endorse smoking as a habit, I will say that cigars are something to be enjoyed.

What does this all have to do with shaving, well from the outside not much.  But in looking deeper the more they seem interconnected.  They both take you back to a time when life was slower, more appreciated.  In a time where email and instant messaging didn’t even exist, cigars and wet shaving were life’s little luxuries.  I dare say they are forgotten luxuries of the current day.

I have had a few cigars in the past, but lately I have been trying out a few to find ones I like the most.  I wouldn’t mind having a few on had for when the guys come over.  We can all sit back and relax on the porch swaping fish stories and discussing pertinent issues of the day.  Just like with shaving, cigars in a way help me to slow down and appreciate the little things in life.

As with a fine cigar, shaving takes both time and appreciation to master.  You dont just jump in expecting to know it all, I certainly dont.  You grow into it, learn something new, and then build on it.  All of this and you are enjoying yourself in the process.

So take some time, enjoy yourself.  Grab that favorite shave in the morning, and relax at night with a cool glass of tea and a fine cigar.  Here’s to life, enjoy.

The Shaver

BG

P.S.  I found an article that talks about another mans experience with shaving and cigars.  It’s a good read, try it out.  Have a look, The Joy of Smoking and Shaving.

Leave a Reply

