Hybrid Shaving

Well its been a while since my last post,

I have been traveling a lot lately and got a little backlogged in keeping up with my shaving adventures.  So bear with me as i catch up.  As for the title of this post, you can probably guess that I shaved with more than one razor.  I did a hybrid shave on this one for a couple of reasons.  First, I wanted to shave with the straight and second because I needed a smooth shave for work.  So I got both accomplished in one foul swoop.

First I did the ritualistic showering, then face prep and lathering.  Before all this I did run my straight over a strop, just so you dont think I was getting a little froggy and not stropping the old gal.  Then came shaving.  I must say that I like shaving with my straight more now that I use it for more enjoyment rather than necessity.  The DE really takes the pressure off of me to rush and learn to straight shave.  So now when I do shave with my straight, I can enjoy it more and learn a little easier than before.

Ok on to shaving my face.  First I did a pass one direction, can you guess what direction that is?  Thats right, wtg.  It had been a few days since I shaved with the straight, but I didnt notice any lacking in technique.  If anything it has improved since I am now more relaxed than before.  I am more focused on the details and take my time since I know my DE friend is eagerly awaiting to step in and pickup when the straight left off.  As for leaving off, I didnt get the left side of my face very good this time, need more practice with that hand I guess.  So onto the next step.

The second swipe was with the DE.  It was a clean up effort this time rather than a fresh start shave.  It did a marvelous job and getting the whiskers a little closer than the straight got it.  Plus it isnt quite as much work that the straight is to get nearly the same results.  Plus I like shaving with both any way.  So I got a very nice clean and close shave using both razors in unison.

As for my daily shaving, the DE is still the go to guy.  It might stay that way as well.  I like my straights but they do take a chunk of time I dont like spending every day to shave.  It also gives me the enjoyment I am looking for in shaving even without using my straight.  So the DE is defiantly leading things off for now.  I still use my straights, but with not as much regularity as before.  Not bad, just different.

Till next time, Cant wait till the next shave.

BG

Leave a Reply

