Back at it, Shave 22

Well I had some time this weekend,

I put that time to good use behind a straight this morning before church.  I would like to report that it was the best thing ever, but due  to my lacking of shaving with my straights it was just an ok shave.  It was a good reminder of why I need to keep up with it.  If you dont do it, you loose.  defiantly have lost some of it.

I did the usual prep, nice hot shower, dry off minus my face, get out the scuttle and lather up.  I guess before the shower I stropped the Black Micarta a few times to sharpen it up.  After the prep came the clumsy hands.  It was like I was starting over again, almost.  I didnt cut and nick myself, but didnt get the closest shave ever.  I did get hair off though, the stubble in the sink proved that, so I didnt lose it all.  My main focus was to just do it, not looking for anything pretty.  Although I dont think any shave will leave me looking pretty.

One thing I do notice is the differences between my straights, I think I like my first straight better.  I have never been able to get a very good shave with the Micarta.  Nothing against the razor, as others have had great success, it just doesnt work well for me.  So I think I will get my other old razors sharpened up for fun and try them out.

Sorry nothing too exciting to report, still have all my blood and appendages.  Had a bit of razor burn but that was to be expected with my lack of time being put into my straight shaving as of late.  This week some night I think I will give it another shot.  Going to have to, my DE shaves have surpassed my straights in numbers, cant have that.  This is after all a straight shaving blog.

Till next time, cant wait till the next shave.

BG

Leave a Reply

