Slim Super, DE shaves 38 & 39

Got another razor in use,

Well not for the first shave, but the second one I did.  Had another night at work so I used my first slim that I have packed away in my work spit kit.  Then I used my Super I received in the mail a couple of days ago for the next days shave.  I must say, I really cant tell the differences in the slim and super, they look different, but not sure past that.  Also blades make a tremendous difference, brands that is.  Can completely tell when Im using a better blade vs the ones that are just run of the mill.

As for the work shave, 38, it was just ok.  actually it wasnt all that great.  Still the hot water isnt working in my room, so that is working against me, and I was using what I thought was a good blade but have since learned differently.  For a while now I have used the Wilkinson Sword blades, till I got the new variety blades.  I noticed a huge difference in going back to them from shaving with the others this past week.  Not as good as the Crystals or the Personna’s that I have used.  The Wilkinson blades pulled and didnt slice as nice as the others.  Even with doing my normal regimental stroke routine, WTG, XTG, then ATG, things were still scratchy on my face.  So I think I will do without those blades for now.  Other than that not much to report.  I do think that I need to figure out what Balm is best for spring time, the Nivea Revitalizing with Q10 is a good winter one, but a bit heavy now that things are warming up.  My face felt a bit greasy all day after using it.  On a cold dry day it is great, but with the temps rising I think I will have to put a lighter balm in my spit kit for work.

Now for the better Super shave.  This razor is not much in different design than the slim.  The only real big differences I noticed is the adjustment know is a bit different, as in different levels for the number settings, and the handle is longer and black.  I do think it gave an excellent shave.  I am torn as to what Gillette gives the better shave, I like them all.  Today I used the Crystal blade again, forgot to change it up a bit.  Still I liked this blade in this razor.  Smooth shaving all around and no burning.  I think the added length is good as it seemed to help hold a better angle for longer times.  I had this one adjusted to a 4 and it did a very nice job, no pulling or tugging.  Hear is a pick of the razor,

So soon I will be trying out another blade, dare I say a feather blade?  Stick around and see if a blood bath ensues.  I have been enjoying the new face wash, seems to clear up my skin.  Went without balm today to see how my face would do and it did great.  It was a bit dry, but at least not oily.  I think I might try that new Arctic Freeze balm a bit more often for the spring summer months.  Seems a bit lighter than the rest.

Till next time, cant wait till the next DE shave.

BG

Leave a Reply

