Back to the Slant

Welcome back,

This is a retro theme tonight.  If you remember, a while back I was trying out a razor known as a Slant.  It has a special shaped head that tapers from a small gap to a larger gap to expose more blade as you shave.  To see an example do a search for Slant and a few pics should show up in prior posts.  The reason for a repost on this razor is I got a great shave from it tonight.  Previously I had lost faith in it as my face was a war zone every time I used it.

So now with a few months of experience under my belt I set off with middling hopes for tonight’s shave.  I choose to shave at night tonight so my face could have some recovery time before work in the morning just in case.  Case not needed though.  I slapped a feather blade in the slant and headed of with cautious ambitions.  I used what I have been preaching and hearing over and over again, let the weight of the razor do the work.  This being a hefty razor, it had a lot of weight to throw around.  I must say that the first swipe was a shaving epiphany.  Its like the past eight or nine months of shaving wet style culminated into tonight’s shave.  It being the day after the 4th, fireworks were still going off.  This time in the bathroom between the razor and my face.  It was a glorious celebration with man and razor.  I loved it so much, I continued with the rest of my face.  Would have been weird just leaving a patch out and then going to bed anyway.

After I did the initial wtg I dared to venture farther and do atg.  I skipped xtg just because I forgot, but no worry I didnt need it.  Agt was no blood bath either.  I mean I had a minor bleed in a couple of spots, but the styptic pencil took care of that.  I have no irritation and no gaping wounds.  My have the tides turned on my not so beloved slant.  I think it is now a keeper and it is coming off the market from hence forth.  I was trying to sell it just because I didnt like it.  I am glad I didn’t yet, this is defiantly a keeper now.  It just took a few months of bulking up on my shaving muscles and skills.  I must say this razor now has a special place in my shaving heart.

I think I am going to take another piece of advice that guys over on the forum having been telling me, “Keep it as a sunday shaver.”  This being that I should only shave with it once a week or for special occasions.  This baby soft face just cant take the ever changing blade gaps every day of the week.  I will reserve the rest of the shaves for my Super Slim, but Sundays are now a holy Slant shave.  Take my and the forum guys advice; first dont get one of these till you got a little time under your belt, second save this for a once a week or special occasion shaver.

Till next time, Cant wait till the next Slant DE shave,

BG

Leave a Reply

